Test shoot

Hi all

As you may know if you’ve been following my twitter, over the last few weeks I’ve been building up my own studio, ready to start some serious portraiture work over the summer. Last week all the equipment I needed to get going finally arrived, so on the Friday I did a test shoot. I was lucky enough to bag myself the gorgeous Erin to model for me and fellow photographer Sally Robinson (http://sallyrobinson.wordpress.com/) also came along.

The main purpose of the shoot was to test out all my equipment so I planned a simple theme of ‘Hats’ for the shoot. This allowed Erin, who hadn’t modeled before, to have something to pose with, helping her feel more comfortable than simply standing there on her own. Props are a great way to help people feel less self-conscious when on a shoot and you may find they help the model pose more naturally, as they’re not thinking about themselves as much. Luckily for me Erin was a natural at modelling, enabling me to get some great photos.

Here are a few of the finished photos from the shoot. I’ll post more later.  Enjoy xx

Erin 3 web

Erin 1 web

Erin 2 web

Erin 4 web

Leave a comment